My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding

(14 Reviews)
International
888-724-8197

Experience the difference with our online wedding dress store. We have over 300 styles of unique wedding dresses that are under $500. We also offer Free Shipping Worldwide. If you are looking for a designer wedding dress that is totally unique, we have our own line called Leontina Gowns. Stunning Designer Weddig Dresses Under $600

My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding has 12 reviews on MomentVille.

Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Mae on September 11, 2011
I tried to have a good outlook on my experience at Leontina Gowns. I warn any bride to be very skeptical of Janet, owner of Leontina Gowns.
I found a dress that called to me, the perfect one, for my special day, I thoughts. Janet seemed so great and helpful, she repeatably told me the dress would be perfect, and how excited he was to work with me. She took my measurements herself. I ordered the dress, having to pay the money up front, made me very nervous, but I calmed my self doubt and did it anyway- BIG MISTAKE! I should have listened to myself. The dress was supposed to take 16 weeks to arrive. At 20 weeks I started to get nervous, with the wedding just a few short weeks away. When the dress finally came in, it was lovely I thought , at first glance, until I tried it on: Lose in the bust, tight around the thorax, shorter in length then we had discussed. The train did not attach. I took the dress to a REAL seamstress to have the train fixed, and well the overall consensus was that it was poorly made, the train should have never been applied that way. I did not deal with Janet for the alterations, to be honest I was just feed up with her! The wedding went great, but the whole night i felt uncomfortable in my dress, unable to bend down or sit comfortly in it. The seamstress I took it to did her best to fix what she could, but it was to late to order a new dress, and I did not have the money. Any bride thinking of ordering her dress from Leontina Gowns, would get the same quality if she ordered one from an online site out of China- I am pretty sure that is where Janets Dresses are made!
My advice to Janet, your products our not great, and you really seem like a nice lady, but doing what you say your going to do is not your strong suit.
My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding says:

Dear Mae, I am so very sorry that you felt this way about your dress. There was no indication that you had these thoughts when you called me right after trying on the gown. You said it fit perfectly but were having difficulty attaching the train. Which I thought we had worked out. It is also very common for brides measurements to change between the time they order the dress and actually wear it. Slight alterations may become necessary but are always less than they would be if a standard size is ordered. I do stand by my products 100% so if there is a problem, I step in and fix it. But I can not fix it when I do not know that there is something wrong. We had excellent communications throughout your transaction. So for me to discover this after the fact leaves me absolutely no opportunity to rectify the situation, and is truly unfair. Again, had I have known of any problem Melissa I would have taken care of it for you. There was a 2 week delay with your dress and that was because of the holidays etc which I kept you updated on a continuous basis. We always allow for 2 weeks in case there is a shipping hiccup. I so enjoyed meeting you and am truly saddened that you wouldn't give me a chance to completely satisfy you.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Tina Miller on May 3, 2011
As a punk rock bride, it was hard to think I would find the dress. I had originally thought I would have to make my dress, in order to get it to look the way I wanted. I had started looking around for design ideas. After countless searches and more ideas than I could ever use, I stumbled on to www.mybigfatbeautifulwedding.com site. There was so many dresses, and endless possibilities. After going through many pages, and adding some "maybes" to my list, I found it. THE DRESS! I was ecstatic that I didn't have to make my dress. After talking to Janet about color schemes, the dress was ordered. On the day of my wedding as I was putting the dress on, my maid of honor was cursing at me for getting the one dress with out a zipper and she cinched me up.

I walked down the aisle on the beautiful July morning with no one but him in mind.

Thank you for making my day so amazing!
My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding says:

Thank you for giving us the honor of making your wedding dress Tina! You rocked and made it your own. Many Blessings!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Wy on September 19, 2010
I would highly recomend www.mybigfatbeautifulwedding.com I personally had a helllish experience at Davids Bridal. When I found Janet she saved me. I am a jeans size 12 and I was told at David's that they didn't have anything in a plus size that would look good on me? I heard about mybigfatbeautifulwedding from our church coordinator. I made an appointment and Janet spent over 3 hours with me. She made sure I tried on every gown and I narrowed it down to this one www.mybigfatbeautifulwedding.com/capazio.htm because it reminded me of a very expensive gown that I saw on say yes to the dress that cost about $7000. This gown is so couture and chic that everyone I showed it to thinks that it costs at least $5000. When it came in last week, I tried it on and it does not need one alteration. It is very well made and fits me better than anything else I tried on at 2 other stores. And the materials are very expensive looking. I wouldn't hesitate to order from this company. I am one happy bride and it's all because I got a dress that I look like a million dollars in. Thank you Janet, I hope your business to enjoy much success!
My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding says:

Thank you for giving us the honor of making your wedding dress Wyatt! You were such a pleasure to work with!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by AL on September 15, 2010
Please DO NOT even consider purchasing from mybigfatbeautifulwedding.com. You will get a cheap rip off from overseas (which was confirmed when I had to take it to a seamstress). She told me that it would cost more than the price of the dress just to fix their mistakes. It was sewn improperly so that the seams would not sit down, it buckled when properly corseted, and so many other issues. Save yourself the hassle and buy someplace else!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by JASMINA ZRNO on June 28, 2010
PLEASE READ MY COMMENT BELLOW AND IF YOU NEED EMAIL PROOF I WILL EMAIL YOUR THE AWFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE EMAILS AND PICTURES
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by mrsjunebug on May 6, 2010
I also had a MISERABLE experience getting my replica dress made by this company. I paid $629 for a dress that could not possibly have cost anything near that in materials and labor. It was a very simple design and it came out VERY different from the original. I asked for no beading and there was beading all over it. I asked for a certain silhouette and got a loose interpretation of that. I gave my measurements (which were taken by a seamstress) and the dress came out way too tight in the hips and huge in the bust. It was as though they made it for a different girl. Needless to say I was incredibly disappointed and Janet refused to even give me a partial refund. And now I have to scramble to find a new dress at the last minute for my June wedding! I just wish I had read a review like this before I placed my order.
My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding says:

Hi Sarah,
As you did see the series of photos of your gown on the finishing floor, you approved the dress and it was sent to you. If the dress did not look like the original you had every opportunity to amend it before you received it. Once you received the gown, you notified me that the dress had some fitting issues. I replied immediately and asked you to forward me pictures of you in the dress demonstrating the illl-fit. Since I did not take the measurements myself I needed to see where the discrepencies were. I never received the pictures or any other reply from you. I also did not refuse to give you a partial refund, I simply requested that you provide me with photos of the issues with the dress so that I could determine how best to rectify the situation. You never replied to my request. So in all fairness to me I responded and was more than willing to provide you with a solution, but I can not do that if I don't get timely, or even some sort response from you at all. Hmm...I see you have posted the dress for sale here. In the description you say it is beautiful and that the beading is subtle. It doesn't appear "huge" in the bust and it is fitted the same as the one you requested in the hips according to the measurements that you originally provided. It is the same silhouette that you approved on the finishing floor. http://www.oncewed.com/28598/used-wedding-dresses/size-2/9904-replica/ amazingly you sold the dress.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by gina on April 11, 2010
I ordered my dress from Janet at www.mybigfatbeautifulwedding.com . It truly was the best thing I ever did. I was nervous for about 10 weeks thinking I did something stupid. Then I got the pictures of my dress in progress and it was INCREDIBLE. It was exactly like the gown I had wanted for so long but could not afford as the original was $6200. A big thank you to this company for making a gorgeous dress at an affordable price.
My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding says:

Thank you for giving us the honor of making your wedding dress Gina. Many Blessing to you and Kevin!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by gina on April 11, 2010
I ordered my dress from Janet at www.mybigfatbeautifulwedding.com . It truly was the best thing I ever did. I was nervous for about 10 weeks thinking I did something stupid. Then I got the pictures of my dress in progress and it was INCREDIBLE. It was exactly like the gown I had wanted for so long but could not afford as the original was $6200! My cost was Only $599. My dress is gorgeous and made out of silk. Honestly you can not tell the difference. A big thank you to this company for making my wedding dress dreams come true!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Keara on March 17, 2010
I ordered a custom made dress from Janet at her website at mybigfatbeautifulwedding.com. It was a complete nightmare. The wedding dress that I received was poor quality. The beads were falling off all over the floor every time I tried it on, the seams for the underskirt were unfinished and were coming loose, and the sleeves did not fit. The sleeves were not a problem because I understand that ordering a dress online that not everything will be perfect regarding the size (even when all the measurements are sent to the company). So I was running out of time to fix the dress, so I ordered and paid for more fabric from Janet to match the dress, but when my seamstress went to put the sleeves on, it was the wrong color and did not match. So with only three weeks left until my wedding I had to run over to David's Bridal and buy a cheap dress because after wasting $500 I could not afford anything else. This was an awful experience and because of this company I did not have a dress that I liked for my wedding day. I hope that no one will make the same mistake I did, do not order online, and do order from this website. I'm still seeing if somehow this situation will work out and will be resolved, but I highly doubt it.
My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding says:

Hi Keara,
Since you wrote this review prior to notifying my with the issues regarding your dress, I am responding to this review to finish the story. Yes, you did notify me that there was an issue with the beading (although not to the extent in your claim here) and the sleeves. You and I worked out a solution whereby you would receive additional materials for the dress. It took you over 3 months to get back with me regarding the additional materials and color selection of the additional sash that I comped you on. Even though the original sash color was selected by you. Because all that time went by, you received your materials and sash many months after your dress and therefor the dyelots were probably off. However once you received your materials you never even notified me that the color was off. Nor did you tell me that you went to another store and purchased a different dress. You finally notified me of these issues more than 2 months after your wedding. And even though I had absolutely no idea that the material didn't match and this was the first I had heard about it, I refunded you $50. In all fairness to me, how can I possibly fix a situation I know absolutely nothing about!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Roberta on November 15, 2009
I was really scared to order my dress online. I sent a picture of 2 dresses, one with a top I liked and 1 with a bottom I loved. Janet put the two of them together and my dress is absolutely gorgeous. It fits me perfectly. I just have to get a bustle and that's it. I would highly recommend this company. I got better customer service from them than I did everywhere else I went. My dress cost $399 and It looks so much more expensive.
My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding says:

Thank you for giving us the honor of making your wedding dress Roberta. Many blessings to you and Lance.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Jenna on July 14, 2009
Amazing is the only word that I can think of that comes close to my dress. I had mybigfatbeautifulwedding.com make me a designer inpsired wedding gown from a picture. It turned out even better than I could have expected. It really looks like I spent so much more. I was so happy with the quality and the price that I ordered my rececption gown from them as well.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Gigi on June 30, 2009
I ordered and designed my one of a kind wedding gown from Janet at mybigfatbeautifulwedding.com
She made a dress for me that was a combination of 2 designer gowns that each cost over $5000. My dress cost $498 and it looks like I spent at least $4000. The quality was amazing and the customer service was spectacular.
My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding says:

Gigi,
Thank you for giving us the honor of making your wedding dress. Many Blessings to you and Giovanni.

My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding has 2 reviews elsewhere.

2 reviews at onewed.com

Write A Review For My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding


Your email is only used for validating the review.

What is the number before twelve?

Submit a link to external reviews for My Big Fat Beautiful Wedding

What is the number before twelve?