Stauer

Stauer

(89 Reviews)
International

Today watch lovers can own vintage designed watches with classic automatic movements for the best values ever seen. Today, watch lovers can own a Stauer.

Stauer has 89 reviews on MomentVille.

Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by eddy on March 18, 2014
wear the ring for 30 days risk free WTF try to return it and they will say "it's been used"
BEWARE.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Malcolm Griffiths on August 24, 2013
I am from England I suspect I am on the USA site I was going to buy. A stauer watch in the UK so ordered the watch via phone was assured it was in stock e-mail would follow confirming the order ,after 4days no e-mail so in the meantime I found this review site and was shocked what you guys where saying about the product so I phoned to cancel and was told the watch was not in stock after being told it was and on its way fair enough they where fine about it and cancelled my order but it begs the question how long would I have waited for the watch without finding out it had not even been ordered just say out of stock and move on I can't comment on the product as I never got it but staff where fine and polite
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by lisa brown on January 7, 2013
Received a ruby and diamond gold plated necklace as a gift. I wore it once on Valentines Day and when I went to wear it for Christmas, the gold had vanished from the pendant, leaving behind an ugly COPPER pendant! Very cheap!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Forreal on November 10, 2012
My soon to be husband proposed to me back in August 2012, but I am so afraid to loose or damage the ring so I don't wear it daily. So my lovely honey gave me the Avalon ring to be my daily wedding ring. When I open the box I almost have tears in my eyes, not just for his thoughtful-ness, but with his classic taste. The ring is actually more beautiful than the RING, the center stone is so big and looks so beautiful and better than the real diamond that he spent $4000 for......so I was afraid he spent a fortune on this Diamondaura ring, he told me he only spent $99 and he gave me another box, which was a pair of sterling silver Diamondaura earrings! And it FREE? Wow, so my future other half is not just romantic, he is also a deal finder?! Anyway, I love this Ring so much that I wear it everyday and I've got soooo many compliments and maybe some jealous comments :) over the last few months I kept on getting showered with flowers and jewelry from Stauer that I am so glad my fiancé is finally got it! Love him so much, and THANK YOU Stauer!!!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Max on November 1, 2012
BEWARE STAUER IS A SCAM
Purchased a watch from stauer, by the time I received it in Canada it costed me double the advertized price. Now my made in china watch (yes they make it look like you are buying a swiss watch) is falling apart (on the 1st day the crown came off). To send it back it will add to the cost of this cheap watch. Customer service will not even reply to my emails. I will never buy anything from this company ever again..
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Starlin on August 16, 2012
I have purchased watches and jewelry from Stauer and I am very pleased. There customer service was very helpful to me. I get many complimentson my watches.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Richard Ward on August 9, 2012
I have been reading the stauer ads for years, and finally decided to give them a try. I was going to order the guitar watch. the young lady that I was chatting with told me about the platinum club, which includes $200 dollars in coupons and a free gift. I asked for details about the coupons, and she told me right up front that they were in increments of $50, and could not be combined. Obviously that is to keep you coming back, which is just smart marketing. I asked about the free gift, which I expected to be something completely worthless. To my surprise, they had several really nice items, all worth more than the cost of the platinum club membership, ($89.95) including the guitar watch I was ordering! I ended up ordering the Midnight Flyboy watch, taking the Guitar watch as my free gift. With the 10% discount that the PC club includes, the total charge was $179.05. Now on to the watches. I received them both about a week later, and I am very impressed with both! They have a real heft to them, and look and feel like a quality watch. I went back on the website, and ordered the Colossus watch, priced at $49. with the %10 discount, plus the shipping I paid $7.05
That's a total of $186.10 for 3 very nice watches! And I still have 3 more $50 coupons to use.
I am usually very skeptical about buying anything on line, but I am glad I finally did this.
Excellent quality, excellent prices, excellent customer service.
Regarding the negative comments, I worked in customer service for more than 20 years, and I know better than most that some people just can't be pleased. I'm sure some of those are legitimate complaints, (every company has some) but you just can't please all the people all the time, you can only do your best.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Michael on July 27, 2012
I've bought one of their watches and have been wearing it since three years ago. I live a very rough and tumble life, and this thing just keeps on ticking. I've been in a major car accident, and my arm got sandwiched between the car and the pavement at nearly 100 mph- with this watch right on it.

I broke my arm, needless to say- but the watch only got a small scratch and still keeps time perfectly.

Judging from the reviews- it seems that Stauer is hit-and-miss, but I can say that I am perfectly satisfied with my purchase, and have never had a more reliable timepiece.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Tony Ott on July 24, 2012
I have had to return two watches. One the analog second hand would stick and not keep proper time. The other the time was 20 minutes fast in a six hour period. I can attest to the fact that the customer service was excellent and both watches were replaced with on problems. I love the watches that they have and believe that they are worth the money. I have purchased four or five of their watches and will continue to purchase their watches in the future.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by keith e lowell on June 30, 2012
I bought the Stauer titanium atomic watch , It set up once per instructions to correct time , and I was bragging to all my friends that I always have the true time . After 3 weeks , i woke up , time was off . It NEVER receives that signal , you can not manully set it to the correct time , they will not respond . A BIG rip off . Never bye one of there over priced pieces of junk!!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Bruce on June 25, 2012
I should have listened to the poor rating here before buying from Stauer. I recently ordered a Stauer Rose Gold Moonphase Watch and I am disappointed that the watch was not the same as described and shown on their website. I tried to inform Stauer company about the deceptive image they posted on internet but they did not reply. So be aware, don't shop at Stauer,
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by John Dickerson on May 27, 2012
Bought a very expensive ring for my wife for Valentines Day and they sent the wrong ring.I returned it and took weeks to get it straightened out.I thought I would give them another chance so I ordered a pair of expensive men's sunglasses.Almost fainted whe the told me it would be almost $20.00 dollars shipping and handeling.I told them to forget it and would never order another thing.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by John on May 24, 2012
Bought the admiral Nelson watch, through a British magazine. It worked well for six weeks then the interior workings came appart. Would not rewind. Bloody rubbish.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Barbara Davis on April 10, 2012
I received the Stauer "raw diamond" necklace as a gift and I was very disappointed and I sent it back to the company. I never received a refund or an acknowledgment from Stauer that the necklace had been received although I have a USPS delivery confirmation. DO NOT buy from this company. Their merchandise is below grade and way over priced.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Lisa on March 28, 2012
I've bought a ruby bracelet from them that was good, but I'm not impressed with confusing issues surround their emerald jewelry.

No where in the ad does it say the Raindrop Caribbean necklace is turquoise, but it's obviously meant to look like turquoise. So I thought I would ask the online rep just to clarify for sure. I've pasted the chat with a Stauer representative & will let you be the judge of how tricky their answers are. Notice she calls it a "stone" and the color turquoise. Another reviewer above was correct when they said you have to be a very discerning buyer. You can get some things here on sale that are good, but it's buyer beware all the way.

http://www.stauer.com/item/Raindrop-Caribbean-Necklace-(400-CTW)/19678

==============

Thank you for choosing Stauer. A representative will be with you shortly.

You are now chatting with Jamie.

Jamie: Hello! What were you looking at purchasing today?

Lisa: Is Item # 19678 geuiune earth mined turquoise stones? Raindrop Caribbean Necklace (400 CTW)

Jamie: What is your last name and zip code?

Lisa: that's not necessary

Lisa: just please answer the question.Is this real turquoise or fake?

Jamie: That is a real stone.

Lisa: is it a real 'earth mined' turquoise stone or a dyed stone of another kind?

Jamie: Yes. It is real mined turquoise stone.

Lisa: thank you

Jamie: Thank you for choosing Stauer. Remember to return to Stauer Web Chat for free shipping on your future orders as well. Have a great day!

Thank you for chatting with us. Please click the "Close" button on the top right of the chat window to tell us how we did today.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by moss on March 9, 2012
very misleading ads. I bought several pieces of jewelry as gifts, they bore little resemblance to the pics advertised. poor quality, mediocre workmanship. I'm still waiting for my refunds, poor customer service.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by gloria turner on February 21, 2012
The necklace I got was a piece of junk& I could have got it at the dollar store for much less! Very disappointed. Plus it took me 3 months to get it. My overall rating is 0000000000000000000000000000! I will put it in my local paper not to buy anything from Stauer! Thanks for nothing
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Patricia Hixson on January 31, 2012
Between my boyfriend and myself we have purchased so far 3 watches, a ring, necklace and earring set, aviator glasses, dual watch winder and a purse. All great products!!! We have had lots of compliments on the jewerly, purse and watches. My boyfriend cracked a crystal (his fault) on one of this watches and when he called Stauer's to order something else he mentioned what happened and cusstomer service told him to send it back and they would fix it.,,, all it costed was $25 for shipping, insurance etc. We mailed the watch on a Monday and recieved it back one week later. Then he broke the stem and cracked the crystal (again his fault) we sent it to Stauer's to be fixed. Instead of fixing it they sent him a brand new watch!! Customer service has always be polite and helpful. I agree the money coupons could be a little clearer on how they can be used but other than that Stauer rates an A+ in our house. In fact I'm getting ready to order another watch today. And yes we could go to expsensive jewerly stores but why when we find great finds at Stauer's.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Carol on January 28, 2012
Received the tanzanite ring as a gift, the purchaser said when giving this ring to me it was a dissapointment because the stone's color was not the blue as advertised. I was really excited to open the ring because I love tanzanite but the stones in this ring have barely any color. Glad I didnt pay for it.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Gina on January 17, 2012
Stauer is an overpriced scam; I was fooled because I saw an ad in National Geographic, whom I consider trustworthy. I pointed out this ad and asked for a Stauer emerald ring as a Christmas gift.

After 5 minutes of wearing it on Christmas day, I take the ring off and discover that the stone has turned my flesh green. (Not the metal- I am not allergic to any metals as some are.) I am an amateur gem collector, and neither of my other emeralds has ever turned my skin green, despite all the handling and admiring. If you Google information on emerald treatments, you will see that dying them is considered a deceptive practice in the gem industry. The quality of the silver setting on the ring looks comparable to rings I have bought cheap from local artisans. So please take note to expect an expensively inferior product from Stauer!

I am mostly upset because if my grandmother knew that the ONE HUNDRED THIRTY dollars she spent on me for a gift was wasted, she would be incredibly upset and angry, but I do not want her bothered. (She most likely ordered it months in advance of Christmas, so it would not be refundable.) I will keep the ring and think of her love when I wear it.

A couple more things:
One woman suggests that we be happy with our Stauer products because they are "only" a hundred or so and we should expect costume jewelry at those prices. I would just disregard her because she is a complete moron. Most of us cannot afford costume jewelry at those prices, and why should we when we can buy two or three quality pieces at that price from Sears, Penney's, JTV.com, etc.???

Another person notes that all the negative reviews must have been submitted from competing jewelry companies. Maybe they do not realize that the same logic can be used against their positive reviews. The truth is at your discretion! :)

I hope this review saves the reader from heartache and hassle!

Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Wally on January 12, 2012
I've been a platinum member with Stauer for 2 years and all I can say is that you have to read and research their ads CAREFULLY! I agree that their $300 coupon deals may be disappointing at first because they don't advertise it to be used in $25 increments. I believe they need to work on their marketing disclosures more. But as an informed consumer, I asked their customer service reps on how their promotions work, their shipping policy, how their coupons work, ..etc without any indications of deceit. They plainly told me how the coupons work and how it offsets their high shipping costs. As far as many items being priced at $99 just shy of $100 to take advantage of their coupons, they plainly told me that it is marketed on purpose, ....which is what marketing is. I further asked then how is a customer going to take advantage of the coupons offered and their reps. tell me that they can add a warranty plan or add a gift bag for $2.99 more so the customer can take advantage of their coupons. This isn't a ploy to deceive people; this is smart marketing.

Concerning their watch quality, it is decent, not the best, certainly not the worste. Currently living in Asia right now, I can attest the facts that other than Switzerland, Germany and Italy, most well-known watch movements are manufactured in Japan, Taiwan and China. Even in counterfeit watches, these are rated as Grade AAA (mfg. in Japan), AA (mfg. in Taiwan), A (mfg. in China). Grade AAA counterfeit watches are actually very good quality. Now back to Stauer, eventhough many of their watches are mfg. in China, they do have in fact a factory in China that assembles these Swiss-Engineered watches with Swiss parts. Notice I said "Swiss engineered" and not "Swiss Made", because it is made in China. There is in fact genuine Swiss machinery and genuine Swiss watch parts shipped to China to complete the assembly of the watches. By international Customs law, companies have to declare the country-of-origin as China regarding their products. Trust me, I work in this industry so I know. As for personal research and experience, many of the Stauer watches were designed and engineered in many EU countries as well as Asian countries using authentic EU parts and technology/engineering. However, the final manufacturing took place in China, which is perfectly fine for a company to sell these replica watches for an affordable price. Any company is all about the bottom line and is in the business to make money. For this, you can't fault Stauer for their intelligent marketing dept.

As far as customer service and warranty service, many of their products are shipped directly from another manufacturer (ie. Eagle Eyes sunglasses) and Stauer only acts as a "distributor". Unfortunately Stauer may not back up these type of products which are sold through their company website. Other than Stauer watch products, they also carry authentic non-Stauer watch products (ie. Junkers, Swiss Mountaineer, Luminox) which are excellent products. Having owned more that 50 watches from high-end Omega's and Oris', to middle-end Swiss Army, Luminox, Seiko, Citizen's, to low-end Timex, my professional and personal opinion is that Stauer watches are somewhere higher than the low-end to a little bit higher than the middle-end watch level. For the price, they are a great value! ...And you don't have to worry about busting one up if you do.

I hope my review will have helped you make an informed and FAIR opinion of Stauer. Thank you for reading.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Mac on January 10, 2012
I have read several negative reviews but I was treated right. I've ordered the tungsten ring, it came in a timely manner, and the quality was excellent. It looked just like the picture I think, I didn't realize how massive it was until I got it. I talked online with a very courteous young lady, and very professional. I have no reservations with ordering from stauer again.I can't speak for the rest of their products but my ring was exactly as advertised. Until they do me wrong, I will order from them again.The charge on my credit card was right as well.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Comox Pat on January 6, 2012
I bought the guitar watch which is as nice looking as the online pics show. It is quite bulky though as mentioned by many. For the cost, I am certain that I could find an equally nice looking Timex at Walmart or Costco for less. My biggest beef though is the fact that the watch is less than six months old/new and the day dial hand has fallen off and is floating inside the crystal. When I called the company, they told me that the manufacturer warranty only covers the mechanical workings and the dial would not be covered by such. However, for $30 I could purchase a watch replacement program and I would get a new one. What a deal!!! I told the rep that for another $40, I could by a good looking Timex or Casio that would last much longer than a few months. When asked what my option was, I was told there was none. My reply was that word of mouth can be the best and worst advertising and in this case it will be the latter.
If you are thinking of buying from this company, believe the negative comments posted.
As I have only bought the guitar watch, I can only credibly comment on this watch. That said, I feel that the product was not worth the cost.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Wieslaw Lisaj on December 31, 2011
junk
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by K Archer on December 7, 2011
While some of the jewelry from this company is nice, I say some but not all. This company is in business to defraud people, they start off sending you something you like. Then they sign you up for a platinum program, send you coupons, lie on the phone about what you are getting, and charge money for shipping each piece and a warranty I never wanted or agreed to! The next thing I knew a $40 necklace is $140. They put five things in one box and charge $22. shipping per item in the same box. I am filing a complain with the attorney general's office and disputing my credit card statement. I have been ripped off this holiday season to the tune of $700. in fraudulent charges, I also have five separate accounts at Stauer that they created to run up higher bills. They also did not apply the discount coupons to my orders that they used to entice me into ordering.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Dorita Tolbert Portraits on December 1, 2011
I have purchase several pieces of your wonderful jewelry. I Highly recommend Stauer the Glamorous jewelry for Less. We all know before purchasing what exactly we are buying, they are clearly stated in the description. I have all of the Stauer Pearl collection and they are exquisite! We also purchased man other items and love them. The tanzinite is simply beautiful and love that i can see the blue, purple and pink tinge in the Stone. I am very impressed with the price and the products. We did have a slight mix up on the payment however they worked very quickly to fix it! I have saved thousands of dollars on their products and will continue to save thousands and look like I am a Jeweler!! Everyone Enjoy your Pieces! :))
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Nana on November 30, 2011
I'm surprised by all the negative reviews out there. That's why I want to share my opinion. My boyfriend's mother has a diamond ring from Stauer. She recently told me that her ring was actually not a real diamond, and that it is synthetic. I was shocked because all this time, I thought it was real and had admired the ring that shined on her finger. It's very beautiful and sparkles like a real diamond. She told me that she got it a year ago on her anniversary, and she wears it every day 24/7. That means that the quality is good if she can wear it everyday and still look like new. My boyfriend and I are looking for a ring and since I don't want a blood diamond, I will probably buy a ring from Stauer.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Dawn on November 21, 2011
I have ordered numerous rings and necklaces over the years and all still look like new. I watch for their "free" items that they previously advertised for one, two or sometimes three hundred dollars so don't mind paying the $25.00 s&h (even though that's a ridiculous price). I only once have returned a piece and had no problem doing so. You know you are buying costume jewelry so why complain. The description given provides the size of the stones and the pictures all say items are shown larger than actual size.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Alfred Williams on November 15, 2011
I purchased a wedding ring set for my wife.....it arrived yesterday.....WOW.....it is so beautiful! We are very pleased with our purchase and the customer service was wonderful! We would certainly purchase from Stauer again.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by helen bartholomee on November 11, 2011
Ordered the ruby necklkace and found it to be a total scam. The stones were much smaller than in the ad and the gold chain could be found on a WALMART item . The sales people were pushy and the product will be my last purchase from this company.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Paul on November 11, 2011
I've purchased the Dashtronic, the Colossus Hybrid, The Compendium Hybrid and the Ritorno watches this year, all of which I am very fond of. All look and work as advertized and I cannot he happier. A few more watches are under consideration.

The self winding watches do cease to keep time after about 24 hours but in my view resetting an idle watch is a minor matter.

The club $50 coupons do offset the $25 per unit shipping cost. If I have any criticism it would be to develop a more effective and transparent shipping cost recovery model. Based on my good experiences to date, this was the only thing that made me pause with my purchases as I know actual shipping cost is far less. Once I run out of club coupons, the $25 shipping cost hurdle may grow taller.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by PAMELA JACKSON on November 10, 2011
Over the past 5 yearsm i have bought several things from Stauer.I only ever returned 1 item I did not like once it arrived and had no problem exchanging it for something else. So far I really have no complaints except that customer service pushes their platinum club pretty hard. Did end up getting patinum club but was disappointed that i can only use my $200 in 50.00 increments.
So far, after doing business for 5 yrs with them, I continue to be pleased with quality and service/
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Joe on November 3, 2011
have bought 3 watches from Stauer--am very pleased with all 3--they look great, and people complement me all the time
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Darrold Dorr on October 30, 2011
My wife purchased a watch from Stauer ($49.99) as a birthday gift but my birthday was 6 mnths later than the purchase date. I have other watches (better quality) but when I opened this piece of ----
and pulled out the stem it came out all right all the way. I don'[t feel this is any where near the quality of a Timex , as I am wearing one now that keeps perfect time and was much less expensive. I sent the watch back to them as the 30 day warranty had long since expired and told them to sell it as refurbished . Good watches are indeed hard to find and Stauer is not the place.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by SJ on October 26, 2011
I cancelled my order before it shipped. Luckily, it was backordered and they ship everything together. Their "free" necklaces plus $25 S&H is a scam. These items are probably worth about $10 AT MOST plus it doesn't cost $25 to ship one necklace. They say they are taking a loss (news article) but they really aren't. I've been scammed before online but I caught this one before they could charge my card and I was willing to argue with them and dispute the charge on my card.
First off, they hadn't charged my credit card after I ordered. This gave me a red flag. Everything I have ordered online charges you right when you order it. As I was cancelling, I asked when they charged the card and she said AFTER they ship the products probably because it creates a hassle for the buyer if they do try to cancel. Plus she gave me no trouble cancelling the order. I was actually surprised it was that easy. It sounds like she was used to people cancelling orders. They didn’t even give me a confirmation number on the cancelation so I defiantly screenshot the website because it said it was cancelled. I'm defiantly going to keep an eye on my credit card for any charges by them and disputing ANY the first day I see one. I heard their jewelry looks like plastic, Halloween accessories.
Their website only has 5 star reviews on EVERYTHING so it is obvious they are putting up fake reviews. Even on here, the average stars rating is 3 but without the obvious fake reviews then it would be 1 star. When you only see either 1 or 5 star reviews with almost nothing in the middle then you KNOW something is up. I saved myself so now save yourself and DON’T BUY FROM THIS COMPANY.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Mary Lujan on October 21, 2011
i bought a stauer moonphase watch and didn't have it a month and and the crown broke! so i sent it off to be repaired by some co. in coral springs,fl. soon after it was sent back the whole mechanisim broke! I SENT IT BACK IT AGAIN and low and behold the co. that repaired it was no longer in service! IMAGINE THAT! now im stuck with a $150 watch that Stauer wont repair or wants to be responsible for! I even took it to a local jewler and they dont even want to touch it! So i must say.. im as disgusted as all these others who wrote in to complain about this so called repitable watch manufacturer. I too, would never buy anything from them again! And YES their customer service dept. are not only very rude but also heartless when it comes to customer satisfaction and service! They were very unprofessional!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Shari Peavy on October 2, 2011
I have purchased from Stauer several times and have been more than pleased each time. I tend to agree with the reviewer who believes the negative reviews may be coming from people in or connected to the jewelry business. 6 Christmas' ago, my husband purchased a set that included a Journey necklace, 1/4 carat studs and a 1 carat solitaire.The necklace and earrings have not had a lot of wear as my "always on" jewelry is garnet. The ring however I wear almost all the time, I have even forgotten it was on and gardened and cleaned with chemicals. The ring looks as good today as it did that Christmas Eve. I have since purchased several pieces from there, the only time I needed customer service was over something I did to one of the pieces from another set. I was careful to explain the fault was mine and I only wanted the lost piece replaced. They insisted on replacing the entire set, did not want the remaining pieces of the original back, and shipped it free. If I had been a long time customer, I might have expected such generosity, but this was only my second purchase. When I want a fabulous looking piece of Jewelry I always head straight to Sauer. I also purchased a titanium watch for my husband that was supposed never to loose a second of time. He has had that for 18 months now, he wears it to work and it still looks great and works perfectly. In the past I had purchased the "M" watch for him two different times. The band broke on the first, and not one jeweler in Boston could replace it. The second simply stopped working after a few months. These were not knock-offs, they were purchased from a very elite jewelry store in Nashua, New Hampshire. Now that watch, I would classify as junk!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Shari Peavy on October 2, 2011
I have purchased from Stauer several times and have been more than pleased each time. I tend to agree with the reviewer who believes the negative reviews may be coming from people in or connected to the jewelry business. 6 Christmas' ago, my husband purchased a set that included a Journey necklace, 1/4 carat studs and a 1 carat solitaire.The necklace and earrings have not had a lot of wear as my "always on" jewelry is garnet. The ring however I wear almost all the time, I have even forgotten it was on and gardened and cleaned with chemicals. The ring looks as good today as it did that Christmas Eve. I have since purchased several pieces from there, the only time I needed customer service was over something I did to one of the pieces from another set. I was careful to explain the fault was mine and I only wanted the lost piece replaced. They insisted on replacing the entire set, did not want the remaining pieces of the original back, and shipped it free. If I had been a long time customer, I might have expected such generosity, but this was only my second purchase. When I want a fabulous looking piece of Jewelry I always head straight to Sauer. I also purchased a titanium watch for my husband that was supposed never to loose a second of time. He has had that for 18 months now, he wears it to work and it still looks great and works perfectly. In the past I had purchased the "M" watch for him two different times. The band broke on the first, and not one jeweler in Boston could replace it. The second simply stopped working after a few months. These were not knock-offs, they were purchased from a very elite jewelry store in Nashua, New Hampshire. Now that watch, I would classify as junk!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by K. M. on September 20, 2011
I received the Palatio Ruby necklace and bracelet. I am embarassed to wear the piece because it looks like cheap junk and in fact when you read the fine print is. Supposedly gold over "german silver" which is basically little more than pot metal. I reviewed the necklace twice on Stauer's website and it has never been published. Don't waste your money on this junk jewelry.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Glenn on September 19, 2011
I bought the Stauer Graves watch a few years ago. First I was taken in by the slick ad copy they use. Great picture,clever writing etc. didn't realize that the movement was from China never stated. Also they cut the price in half a few months after I ordered the watch. After two years two of the smaller dials,the month and the date broke. I also had trouble with the crown going into the case and finally the watch runs quite fast. No repair shop will touch it. I've been temped to buy from them but you can get a nice quality watch for $100-200 dollars at a reputable store.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by rita ryan on September 15, 2011
Paid for membership and never got a piece from Stauer that looked anything like the magazine-bought a tanzanite earring and necklace and it is cheap quality -sent back the earrings twice-locks don't work-stone are clear rather then blue-necklace lock is cheap cheap-never buy another thing-I have spent too much time and $$$-better off at Kohls or Penneys
ritaThere is no quality-SCAM
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by P Rogers on September 3, 2011
Bought the Guitar watch about two months ago, and am somewhat disappointed in the length of time the watch stays running without being worn. I've owned self winding watches in the past, and usually they will run at least a week before needing to be worn or needing winding. This watch barely runs a day...two at the most and it quits running. Seems a bit cheap to me.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by SatisfiedCustomer on August 26, 2011
Persons writing a negative review do not take into account the price difference for a AAA stone compared to a lower class stone. I recomend if you want a AAA stone you go to a very reputable jeweler in your area and you pay $6000 for it. On the other hand if you are looking for a piece of jewelery that looks nice and is inexpensive then you buy from Stauer. I have both, one is called a wedding ring, the other is called everyday jewelery.

I also have the same tanzinite that has been critized in other reviews. I can tell you it is not as dark as my wedding ring, but is still very nice and merits a compliment. As a matter of fact I get more compliments on the Stauer piece I paid only $100! compared to my wedding ring, which cost about 60 times more!

When making your decision think about whether or not you want to spend thousands or hundreds. It's simple, buy Stauer.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Don Stewart on August 17, 2011
I have order a couple of items from Stauer and in both situations found the items to be much smaller than advertised. Trick photography!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Powers on August 13, 2011
Stauer is a scam.
Neither Minnesota Attorney General nor Better Business Bureau will do anything about Stauer. Bought two "Ritorno" watches, (one has a missing hand, the other, a broken case). Stauer has ignored my request for return documents.)

Need I say, "Buyer Beware"?



Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Dissapointed on August 12, 2011
Bought the Tanzanite set and expected the brilliant blue stone they advertise. Instead got some purple stone, very dissapointed to say the least!!!! If they advertise the blue stone, then they should send the blue Tanzanite!!! DO NOT BUY!!!!!!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Rand on August 5, 2011
I have purchased 3 stauer watches which I love. Strangely enough, my graves and meisterzeit watches are 2 of my wife's favorites out of my entire collection of 20 watches. Great product.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by george on July 27, 2011
I found Stauer from their ad in Scientific American: a prestigious scientific journal. I bought the synthetic diamond heart pendant for my wife. And it was beautiful! I knew the diamond is man-made, but with break-through technology. Man-made diamond has been used in industry for decades as drilling/grinding tools. New technology (from M.I.T.?) can make diamonds much bigger and without impurities; that's what Stauer is about. I am a chemist with advansed degree. I always dreamed when I was young that I can make perfect diamonds (from carbon), like Stauer has now.

I bought their watch, too. No; they look just like all those fake cheap watches made in China (they were made in China, too). just stick to their diamond line will be fine!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by LILY LYNN on July 20, 2011
Beware
Most of what we bought broke within a few months.
They charged my credit card for things I didn't purchase.
When I called them they denied using the card.
I can't believe that National Geographic advertises them??
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Barbara Powell on June 27, 2011
My husband has bought several jewelry gifts for me over these past two years and they are just as described on web site.. I wear the complete saphire/diamond set and the complete emerald/Brazilian set and have so many compliments when wearing them..












Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by JJH on May 25, 2011
I do not recommend this company.
They say that their diamonds are "lab created" and of the same substance as real diamonds but then why did my jeweler test them and tell me that they are worth nothing. Their silver rings scratch and look horrible after one month, just in time for the 30 day money back gaurentee to expire. Yes, some of their things are pretty but they are also "fake" and could be bought for much less elsewhere. Their shipping and handling are also very high. Stay away from Stauer. I will from now on.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Ernest on May 15, 2011
I think most of the negative reviews are from Jewelry Dealers because I own a Graves 33 and a regulator watch and love both of them. I bought a Tanzanite and The Royal Proposal Ring both are beautiful and well worth the money. I have had only one problem over the years as a customer of Stauer. I had the Meisterzeit watch that the Month Complication quit working. I contected them and it was NO problem. They let me exchange it for the Regulator I now have at NO cost. I didn't even have to pay shipping. I have had only good experiences from Stauer even when I found a problem. Great Products at Great Prices and Great Costumer Service. I don't understand the complaints on the Emerald Necklaces either. It CLEARLY states the Caret Weight. If they are too small I suggest ordering a larger caret size.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Anon on April 30, 2011
BEWARE!! Bought the Tanzantite set, looks nothing like the pics they show in ads. Was expecting blue Tanzanite like they show in pic, but got some light purple stone instead. Dissapointing, to say the least
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by canada on April 8, 2011
300 dollar coupon is scam as code does not work with STR25OFF code,,gold finish faded to bare metal less than 0ne week on girlfriends finger and enclosed FEDEX label does not work from uphere so i returned at my own expense only to be recharged 29.95 again on exchange,,watch your credit card statements with this company,,quality is really whats to be expected at these prices as it is "knock-off" pieces,,necklaces are very fragile as well.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Richard Schoessler on March 2, 2011
I purchased a Stauer Meisterzeit watch this winter. I also wanted a gold metal band. I purchased the band at Quick Fix. While we were at Diamond's International last week in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. The salesperson wanted to see my beautful watch. Said it look like an Rolex with the metal band I had installed. Thank you. Watch good value, I own 5 Stauer watches.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by John on February 12, 2011
it's a scam
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Michelle on February 8, 2011
I bought a watch online for advertised 9.99£ + postage very high 9.89£. I payed with credit card and they charged me the money. first the watch never arrived and then they sent me a letter that i did receive the watch( not recorded etc) so they said in this letter that they want to take 240£ !!!!!!!!!!!!!! out of my account. They said i gave permission for this because i bought the watch. They took the money out of the account and i still had no watch. After 2 weeks they sent a watch and it was too late to return it becaus the return time was expired. BAD DEAL. I bought a watch for 9.99£ and they charged me for over 240£..I am still trying to call the customer service( no answer), to report them at the police and to get a reverse transaktion. But this is only a try after 30 days with my credit company...i am totalydissapointed and desperate. DON'T MAKE BUSINESS WITH THEM !!!!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Jan Teel on February 1, 2011
I bought the 20ct bracelet and it arrived here and I so for am pleased with it. Its beautiful and when I do it people just stare at it.wear
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by jan mearkle on January 24, 2011
Buyer beware! Stauer often sells created gemstones. They DO state this in their ads - but you must read carefully. Lab-created stones are often of high quality, but are not as expensive as real gems.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Hal on December 31, 2010
I also was very dissapointed in the $300 coupon scam! There is no dissclaimer about it being 12 $25separate coupons redeemable onyl once a month. Seeing as they charge a rediculus $19.99 for a simple watch shipping, the coupon is gobbled up. Overstock.com ship table to $2.95, what does Stauer not undertsand. I got my wife the white ceramic wtahc and at this point I am happy with it, but value wise it with the shipping and the coupon scam I'm not going to buy from them again. Also, they send you an instant $25 coupon on purchases of $100 or more, but try to find anything that is not $99.00 or $300. Good luck with this company.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Charles on December 26, 2010
I just received two Stauer watches for Christmas. The Dashtronic and the Graves. They are really nice and look unique. Both work well and stand out boldly and with class. A must have gift to give and own.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Charles on December 26, 2010
What a rip-off. The tanzanite ring was a piece of junk.Not as advertized. They claim to be a member of the BBB, but somehow, am unable to get a report as that site is blocked. They must write their own reviews.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by john webb on December 13, 2010
I have bought about a dozen items from Stauer. We are happy with the quality. I probably have 5 watches from them alone. I am disappointed in their latest scam though. They offered a product for a price with 300.00 in coupons to use on future purchases. Normally a good deal from them. But when my item arrived the "coupons" were for 25.00 1 time each month for 12 months. nothing describing this in their literature. It would almost be acceptable but there current promo is you get a 25.00 coupon with any order to supposedly cover S&H charges on your next order. Coupons cannot be combined so the 300.00 in coupons are a total waste. You already get free coupons with each order. Buyer beware. Read all print then still go somewhere else. I will not be buying agan. They are not understanding at all about how this appears to be a scam.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Wes Dodd on December 11, 2010
I purchase my wife the pear cut pendant. It is beautiful and she loves it. I was disappointed that one of the earrings in the set had a broken stud. I returned it for replacement and am waiting for a replacement
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by susan on December 3, 2010
I order the Tanzinite ring for $99.
Wore the ring one time and the center stone fell out. I have sent the ring back for replacement. I am not even sure they will replace the ring. Don't feel safe with the service nor the quality of their rings.
will never order from them again.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Melllissa on November 22, 2010
I have several pieces of Jewelry from Stauer, I am disappointed in a few things. I have to keep sending back my rings cause the center stone gets lose and falls out or some other stone in another place. My Husband just returned the Baguette and Marquise Ice ring for the Dearly Beloved set for that problem, the 2 ctw stone came out tonight and now I am on the hunt for a new ring in the same price range cause I have spent alot of money with them and I really don't want to spend more at this point. I ordered a bracelet and wore it twice and bam a stone fell out and I am sending it back. I ordered the love knot ring and it isn't as good a quality as the picture, it is very pretty but not as in the photo. I think the web site is very unorganized and some stuff is priced well while another of equal or even lesser value is ridiculous and over priced.. I really wish I could just get the 400 I have spent with them back and go some where else I am sorry to say it... I have been a customer since 2005 when I bought my first ring, I thought it would be good to come back but I guess I was wrong. The funny thing is someone thought the three stone ring was real and stole it out of my house when I was moving so obviously it looks good but personally I think they need to use a stronger metal or better quality cause this just isn't holding up.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by April on November 17, 2010
I have several peices of jewelry from Stauer and have only one complaint. The band on one of my rings tarnished after I forgot to take it off while cleaning. Otherwise, I love the stuff!! Its affordable, gorgeous, and I get tons of compliments whenever I wear it!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Patti on October 24, 2010
My husband just bought the dearly beloved wedding set for me from Stauer and I love it. While I know it's diamondaura, you'd never guess it by looking at it. I love the vintage styling of the bands and the big rock in the center doesn't hurt either.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Joanne Paulos on October 16, 2010
My husband gave me a tanzinite set that think is beautiful. He ordered a watch. we are pleased
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Bob Mac on October 2, 2010
I have no idea what some others are complaining about. The product is exclent. Quality and priced right. Can't please everone in this world, but they did make me a happy customer. Good job!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Jas on August 22, 2010
Well they delivered as promised .their watch selection looks good,they may not be a brand name,but for the $$$ charged,it is very good
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Miguel G on July 31, 2010
I bought 2 dastronic watches, and i loved them both. And recieved them very quickly aswell
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Naomi on July 10, 2010
I have purchased two watches for my husband which he absolutely loves. They keep perfect time even after sitting in his dresser draw for a month. I ordered a CZ necklace for myself and have received nothing but super compliments on it. Since I wear "real" diamonds at the same time as this necklace people think the necklace is "real" as well. My secret!! I would recommend to others as well.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by vanofva on July 6, 2010
If you are looking for a gift for a man that is attractive and will last through all types of abuse let me tell you about 2 of the Stauer watches I own. First is the atomic or radio controlled watch. This is my go everywhere watch. I do a lot of manual type of activities and this watch keeps perfect time. The other watch is a silver dollar watch that is both attractive for dress wear and like the first watch keeps perfect time. I am not as rough on this watch as the other one because this is my "man jewelry" and I want to keep it looking nice. I have about 5 years experience with this company's watches and dollar for dollar they provide an excellent product for the money.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Richard on July 6, 2010
My wife bought me the Stauer Swiss Dive Watch for our anniversary. It is an incredibly solid watch and very high quality. It is a great value compared to higher priced dive watches.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Sally on July 6, 2010
My Stauer Emerald Necklace is amazing. The stones are set in beautiful silver that shows off the vivid green color. I get many compliments when I wear it and recommend Stauer to all my friends and family. Thank you for providing great quality jewerly at an incredible value!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Patty on July 5, 2010
I just ordered and recieved the tanzanite ring from Stauer and love it. It's striking when you open the box and you certainly can't beat the price. An amazing value at $95.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Mark on July 3, 2010
I've had nothing but GREAT experiences with Stauer. I bought myself the Swiss Biosphere watch 3 years ago, and I couldn't believe what a solid swiss watch I got for this price--$199! And now 3 years later, it is still in excellent condition and I still love it. Because of this, I tried ordering some jewelry for my wife (50 carat emerald necklace for Christmas and just recently, the ruby earrings for her birthday.) Both arrived on time and exactly how they were pictured in the catalog. Thanks to Stauer, I will be a life long customer (and my wife loves it, too!)
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Cat on July 2, 2010
I ordered my husband the Stauer Meisterzeit Watch for his birthday. He loved it! I signed up for their email newsletter from their website and they had a offer I couldn't pass on. The online purchase was hassle free and the watch arrived much faster than expected!!! When he saw the box and the watch inside he couldn't believe I got it for his birthday. Thank you Stauer!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Warren on July 2, 2010
Bought my wife the midnight sapphire necklace for our anniversary and she was thrilled with the necklace. It was great quality and was priced under $100! She thought I spent hundreds of dollars on this necklace. The color was beautiful and the necklace was great quality. I will be returning to purchase her Christmas gift!!!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Kelsey on July 2, 2010
I bought the midnight flyboy watch for my boyfriend and he absolutley loved it! It fit my budget being a college student and the quality was great! Customer service was very helpful and the watch arrived when they said it would. Great experience and I will be ordering again.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Lisa on July 2, 2010
I have ordered numerous products from Stauer and have loved all of them. Well worth the money! Ordered my products online at stauer.com and didn't have any issues with website or receiving my order. Great shopping experience and would recomment this website to everyone!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Drew on July 1, 2010
Great watch! I love it so much I've bought 4 more for gifts. The customer service was EXCELLENT when I called to order the 4 at one time. My first order was from there website ... www.stauer.com and was a perfect shopping experience. Stauer, you've going to have a repeat customer ... keep those deals coming!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Mike Bare on April 28, 2010
Poor quality product, made in India or China at best for about $5 - Will never buy from this copmpany again
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Lenir on April 9, 2010
I saw Stauer's add for the "emerald in 14k gold necklace" in Scientic American magazine and didn't think of checking the reputation of the seller. I just received the laughable piece and I'm rushing to the post office to return it. THIS IS A SCAM, FALSE ADVERTISING. The necklace is a piece of junk. The said emeralds are minuscule, and I mean it -- smaller than seed pearls.
With return postage, I wasted $27.99 good dollars and tons of time. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by David Shattie on December 11, 2009
I just (12/11/2009) received the $200 emerald necklace intended as a Christmas present for my wife. The advertised photograph in their catalogue and online is a totally misleading come-on and is a false repesentation of the product I received. The so-called emeralds are comparable in size to the tiniest of rhinestones shipped in a 3" box tucked in a postal envelope for which they charged me an additional $19.95. I am returning the item at my expense and have lost the exorbitant $19.95 they charged me for postage, handling and insurance. CAVEAT EMPTOR! Beware of dealing with this company.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by JESSE ANDREWS on December 10, 2009
I HAD A GENTLEMAN NAMED JOSH HELP ME, HE WAS EXTREMELY HELPFUL AND COURTEOUS. THE PRODUCT WAS FANTASTIC AND ARRIVED IN A TIMELY FASHION. WONDERFUL!
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Archie on November 25, 2009
This would be great if they gave you what they advertised. I bought the raw emeralds with 14k gold. What looked like an extremely wonderful gift, turned out to be a necklace and ear ring set that I would not given my child. I was embarrassed to have my wife seen her 25 anniversary present, and had to make plans on the fly to buy something else. The good old bait and switch. I don't know how they get away with it, but they do. If it is too good to be true, then it is too good to be true. Stay away from these liars. They make tons of money on shipping, because I paid 50.00 in shipping and handling only to be told they would not refund my shipping.
Overall
Quality
Professionalism
Value for Money

Report As Offensive

Reviewed by Judy on January 9, 2009
Sorry, but they have the worst customer service I have experienced. I ordered a watch and watchband to be sent as gifts. They sent me the watchband in another state. They sent my friend the wrong item. They charged me $20 in shipping for the $48 watchband and only refunded 1/2 of it and I had to ship it myself. They sent my friend the wrong item--not a watch at all. Told him to return it and they would send him the correct item, but oops, they sent the watch to ME. I have been trying to contact them for five days via phone/email. I have received no response, despite promises of a 24 hour response time. I would not ever recommend Stauer to anyone. 3 mixups on one transaction and no response to repeated requests for satisfaction.

Stauer has 0 reviews elsewhere.

Write A Review For Stauer


Your email is only used for validating the review.

What is five plus 2?

Submit a link to external reviews for Stauer

What is five plus 2?